Moving to python for science

OK, it’s final.

After some thinking, reading here and there, I have convinced myself to move to python as far as science is concerned.

One of the mean reasons is that there is this environment (“ecosystem” they call it), SciPy, in which my main concerns are answered.

  • How many times have I looked for information on a language only to find about something I don’t care about. Like address books, what’s up with those? SciPy goes straight to the point: linear algebra, plotting and analysis, symbolic analysis…
  • Already in the first lines, they are already discussing software I use: matlab, octave, emacs, xmgrace (one of the reasons of moving is the lack of progress in this fine 2D program)

Not long ago I wrote a list of scientific software that was interesting to have in linux. Now, if things go as planed I will only need:

GRAPHS

MATH, NUMERICS

MATH,SYMBOLIC

CFD

LIBRARIES

PROGRAMMING

  • SciPy
  • Not replaceable:
    • Good ole C and C++

PUBLISHING

  • LaTeX
  • emacs (don’t forget the AucTeX extension for LaTeX)

STATISTICS

One thought on “Moving to python for science

Leave a Reply

