SUSE over bad networks

I was installing SUSE 11.1 on a Virtual Box on my new computer, and it was taking ages to update the linux distribution (which I needed in order to install VirtualBox add-ons).

It was due to long time-outs caused by a bad connection across the Virtual machine. This is to be expected, I guess, I am glad internet works at all in the machine. Anyway, I run across this very elegant way to improve things:

export ZYPP_ARIA2C=1
zypper update

More info about aria2 and the metalink technology here and wikipedia. Perhaps this is an issue only in SUSE 11.1, but I think it’s good to know.

One thought on “SUSE over bad networks

  1. Pingback: VirtualBox « Daniel Duque Campayo

Leave a Reply

